REGISTER OF DEEDS
Lana Anderson, Register of Deeds
Register of Deeds since 2015, term expires January 2019
1300 Sherman Street, Suite 138, Sturgis, SD 57785
605.347.2356 | Fax: 605.720.6619 | firstname.lastname@example.org
Office Hours: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Mon. - Fri.
Services and Fees
The Register of Deed Office records all Satisfactions, Mortgages, Deeds, Miscellaneous and all other instruments authorized by law to be recorded. Fees for recording are $30 for first 50 pages; $2 for each additional page. Fees for recording plats are $60.
UCC's, fictitious names, bills of sale, death certificates, burials, county indigent liens, sheriff's levy, personal property liens, federal tax liens, state tax liens and other miscellaneous documents. Fees for filings vary according to what it is. Call or e-mail our office for information on the proper fee.
Recorded Copies: $5 for the first page; $1 for each additional page. Certified Birth and Death Records: $15.00 each. Records go back to 1905 and prior. Certified Marriages: $15.00. Records go back to 1905 and prior. (Click on "Vital Record Forms" and download appropriate form)
Marriage License and Fees
Where to Apply
Register of Deeds Office Meade County 1300 Sherman Street, Sturgis, SD 57785 (605) 347-2356 Or the Register of Deeds of any county in South Dakota
How to Apply
Both parties must appear together at the Register's office with proper ID.
When to Apply
State statute requires that after application of Marriage License you have 20 days maximum to marry. Register of Deeds office hours are 8 a.m. - 5 p.m., Monday through Friday; except for legal holidays. Allow yourself 15 minutes for the application process (arrive by 4:45 p.m. at the latest).
Cost of License & Certified Copies
The license must be paid for in CASH at the time it is issued. The current fee is $40.00. The cost for a certified copy is $15.00. (Click on "Vital Record Forms" and download appropriate form.)
What to Do With the License
You are responsible for delivering the license to the person who solemnizes your marriage. The officiator must complete the bottom portion of the license, have two witnesses sign it, then return it to the Register of Deed's office within 10 days after the wedding. The license then remains on file permanently in this office.
Proof of Age and Identification
Identification and proof of age is required of ALL persons. The following documents will be accepted: Age 16 through 17 - Birth Certificate (Legal, Certified) or Valid Driver's License AND Parent or Legal Guardian to give consent. Age 18 and Over - Birth Certificate (Legal, Certified) or Valid Driver's License.
There is no distinction made between resident and non-resident individuals. Applicants must be 18 years of age (a man and a woman) to marry without parental consent. Persons between the age of 16 and 18 may obtain a license with the consent of their parent or legal guardian. Parents must give consent in person at the time of application and must have proper identification.
Proof of Marriage Request
Proof of your marriage is available by completing the appropriate application. Photo ID is required. Please include the following with your request: 1. Names of Bride and Groom at time of application 2. Date of Marriage 3. $15.00 for each certified copy (cash, check or money order) Apply to: Register of Deeds 1300 Sherman St. Sturgis, SD 57785
Vital Card Information
South Dakotans requesting copies of birth, death, marriage and divorce records need to fill out an application and provide proof of identification.
The 2005 Legislature made this a requirement in response to growing national concerns about security and the use of vital records for fraudulent purposes.
Applications and instructions are available at the state vital records office in Pierre and a county register of deeds offices and records can be requested at either location. Individuals completing the application should be prepared to provide a state, tribal or federal issued photo ID.
Certified copies of records can be requested for legal purposes such as passport applications, social security applications, enrolling in school or obtaining a drivers license. To obtain a certified copy of a record an individual must be: listed on the record; the spouse, child, parent or guardian of the individual on the record; the next of kin (grandparent or sibling of the individual on the record); an authorized agent such as attorney, physician or funeral director acting on behalf of the family; designated by someone with the authority to get the record to act on their behalf; or have a personal or property right to the record not included in the above categories. Informational copies of records are also available for those not needing legal documentation, for example, genealogists.
Informational records contain the statement, “For informational purposes only. Not for legal proof of identification.”
The fee for either a certified or informational copy of a birth, death or marriage record is $15.00.
More information about obtaining vital records in South Dakota can be found on the web at http://doh.sd.gov/VitalRecords/order.aspx.